Serial Communication Code....Help!

The code is about obtaining a value of an angle (in degrees) through serial communication and feeding it to a stepper motor.

I have few problems in the code(given below):

1. I am able to obtain the value for “String angle” successfully. I want to convert this string to an Integer (angle to finangle) and finally read that integer in the output window.

2. I need to write this integer value (finangle) to the stepper motor in form of steps. I want to read the steps values as well in the output window. I am badly stuck as I am not a pro programmer. Kindly help asap.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

String angle;
int finangle;
int steps; //400 steps

SoftwareSerial mySerial(10, 11); // RX, TX

void setup() {

pinMode(5, OUTPUT);

Serial.begin(9600);
mySerial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {

serial();
motor();

}

void serial(){

if (mySerial.available()) {
Serial.println(mySerial.readString());
}
if (Serial.available()) {
angle = mySerial.println(Serial.readString());
}

//Serial.println(“angle is”);
//Serial.println(angle,DEC);

finangle = atoi(angle.c_str());
Serial.println(finangle,“fin”);
}

void motor(){

steps = 1.111 * finangle;
{
for(int x = 0; x < steps; x++)
{ //3200 are number of steps
digitalWrite(5,HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(500);
digitalWrite(5,LOW);
delayMicroseconds(500);
}
}
Serial.println(steps,“steps”);

delay (1500);
}

I would advise to read the Serial Input Basics thread

It will first of all give you ideas and secondly help you to prevent the use of String (capital S); heavy use of String manipulation can result in unexpected behaviour at run time.

Further please read https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=148850.0, specifically point #7 how to post code.

Serial.println(finangle,"fin");

I'm surprised that the compiler accepts this. Look up the reference for Serial.println() to see how it works.