Serial Communication from master to slave....

Greetings and Salutations,

I am a hobby experienced programmer, and I am told that is is possible to do serial communication between 2 or more Arduino's, using the hardware method, external of the Arduino.
Would this be a wise move to experiment with? Is it even possible with serial comm's between them, coordinating actions sent out by the master, with only an acknowledge signal that the slave got the message as sent? All I would need is a return signal, acknowledging the data was transferred successfully.
I was wondering if it would be possible for other purposes, leading to AI learning, between the controllers.

Does this sound like a viable place to start? I do not have to have the slaves execute anything other than the monitoring software, looking for the ID code of the slave to be recognized, and there would only be one function for the slave, and that is execute the contained code after the slave acknowledges the date was received, then returning to monitor the serial com line, for another command selection from the master.
In shorter words, it is looking for it's ID code to be transmitted, and when it see's it, it executes the code it has on board. This way, the master can send out multliple codes per cycle, on the same command line. This will not need high speed signals, so timing shouldn't be an issue.

I was thinking, hardware minimal from the master.74hct595, or a 74LS595, as a receiver from the master in serial, changing it to parallel output, running it through simple comparative hardware(8 bit), then use that output, and a DIP switch selecting the 8 bit binary code, which allows each slave to have unique addresses, to execute its commands, and send a signal back saying it is completed. One byte acknowledge, or better yet, pull one single line, briefly low, after program completes it executed code, and wait for the next request to be received....etc...