Serial Communication Stops when trying to read

Hi, I’m a newbie doing a microcontroller course for school and I’m having trouble getting things working.
My TA has been unable to help, and I can’t really find anything online, but that could largely be due to me not knowing what I’m searching for.
I’m using an ESP32 Devkit microcontroller with the arduino IDE.

I’m trying to send data through comport via serial communication to other programs to display/output it. When I output something from the microcontroller, it works as I can see it in the serial monitor. if I try to read it with another program (I’m using python and Processing) they don’t read anything, as if there’s nothing being sent to the comport. If I go back and open serial monitor after closing/stopping the other program, nothing is being printed there either. I can get it printing again by using the reset button on the microcontroller. I can also sometimes get some output to Processing or Python if I keep pressing that button repeatedly; it doesn’t work every time though, maybe once in every 10 times.

I’ve confirmed it’s the correct COMPORT, and I’ve tried it on a different computer as well with the same problems. I made a very simple code wherein the microcontroller just printed “Hello world” to serial, and encountered the same problems. However, when I sent that simplified code to my TA, it worked for him without any errors. This makes me think it’s something hardware-related to do with the microcontroller itself

My TA said I can submit code even if it doesn’t work for me, but then I’m unable to know if my code even works and if it’ll pass the assignment.

#include <String> //generic library
#include <DHT.h> //DHT-11 sensor library

//Declaring Objects

#define DHTPIN 4 //define the pin that the DHT sensor's signal is connected to
#define DHTTYPE DHT11 //define the type of DHT sensor, there are two types: DHT-11, DHT-22. This course is using DHT-11