Serial Communication Works until i send a value from Serial monitor

Hi all,

This is my first time in the forum, i'm totally new and i may be bad asking the right questions.

I made a very small program in Access VBA 2010 that will send a value X:

Open "COM3:9600,8,N,1" For Binary Access Read Write As #1
Put #1, , 7 & vbCrLf
Close #1

This code is correctly sending the "7" to Arduino:

CODE:

String sReceived = "";

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(7, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() {
if ((Serial.available()))
{
sReceived = Serial.readString();
sReceived.trim();
Serial.print(sReceived);

if (sReceived == "7")
{
digitalWrite(7, HIGH);
delay(300);
digitalWrite(7, LOW);
}

}
}

My problem is that my VB code is successfully sending the data (Arduino TX and RX blinks) but it only works after i open Arduino Serial Monitor and send any string.

After sending any string from Monitor the program will run perfectly.

Can you help me with this?

Thanks for your help!!

What sort of Arduino do you have?

Hi, Thanks for response.

Arduino UNO.

OK this problem is typical of boards that use USB HID connections like the Leonardo or the Micro, but the Uno does not work that way.

Opening the serial monitor does reset the Arduino, but I don't know what VB is doing.

VB is sending a number 7 by a binary file very simple code.

Sould i post this in another sectiom, i cannot find a solution.

if (sReceived == "7")

Is not the way to compair strings.

Did you understand the bit about the Arduino being reset when a coms port is opened or closed?

Hi,

"Did you understand the bit about the Arduino being reset when a coms port is opened or closed?"

I have read about this, i even put a 100 uF cap. in the reset ping to the ground but nothing.

About string comparison i'm brand new on this and probably did many mistakes but it does work at least, that part.

Can you please tell me more about your suggestion?

Thanks