Serial connection not responding

I have an Arduino UNO and I can connect to it via IDE and flash it. I can connect to the serial console using serial monitor and/or putty. Everything seems to be in order and working fine. I can do $ or $$ and it returns data.

However, when I add the CNC Shield to the UNO it tries to connect to the console but I never gives me the grbl prompt and does not respond to key strokes.

If i try UGS it appears to connect to the UNO, but if i try to do a $ or $$ int he console there, it give an error of grbl not completely booted.

Could it be a bad CNC Shield? I am new to using Arduino and just was trying to get some direction on posible fixes.

Thanks

You are not giving us much useful information.

What PC operating system are you using?
What program have you got on your Arduino that gives rise to the comment "Everything seems to be in order and working fine"?

When you say "However, when I add the CNC Shield to the UNO it tries to connect to the console" what is it that "tries to connect"? And what "console" do you mean?

When you try with the CNC shield what program is on the Arduino?

...R

Sorry, like I said I am new to Arduino.

I have Windows 10 laptop
Putty v0.7
Arduino IDE 1.8.8

If I connect the plain Arduino UNO via USB to my computer. I can open Arduino IDE and load GRBL v0.8 on to the Arduino UNO. Once GRBL is loaded I can use the serial monitor in IDE or Putty and get the GRBL v0.8 prompt where I can actually type commands like $$ to see the GRBL settings.

Now I disconnect the UNO from my PC and add the CNC Shield board on top of the UNO board. I reconnect the USB cable and when I try to use the serial monitor in IDE or Putty, it never gets to the GRBL v0.8 prompt as it did without the CNC Shield installed.

So my question is why am I not getting to the GRBL v0.8 prompt with the CNC Shield installed on the UNO?

Power?