Serial data problem when using Tx/Rx pins

Hi,

I'm a long-time programmer, but new to Arduino. I have an Arduino Uno R2 and am trying to connect it to my iPhone using the Redpark Serial cable and the Sparkfun RS-232 Shifter SMD but am having problems passing data between the two.

I have a pretty simple sketch:

void setup() 
{
    Serial.begin(9600);   
    Serial.println("Arduino reset");
    Serial.flush();
}

void loop() 
{
  if (Serial.available() > 0)
  {
    int n = Serial.read();
    Serial.println(n, HEX);
    Serial.flush();
  }
}

If I run this and test with the Serial Monitor via USB, I get exactly what I expect: the 'Ardiuno reset' message and then the ASCII values for each character typed, plus the newline.

If I then use the Redpark cable together with the Redpark demo app to echo back the text I enter, I see the words 'Arduino reset' correctly, but text that I enter is not echoed back correctly. If I send the text 'abcdef', for example, I get

6B B5 B7 77 DF EB BB

echoed back. If I send the same text again, I get a completely different set of values returned. I seems like there's random noise appearing from somewhere, but only if I use the Tx/Rx pins - not when I use the USB connection. I've configured the connection as 9600 baud, 8N1. The fact that the 'Arduino reset' text displays just fine suggest the serial port is configured correctly, and so I suspect it's the data being that the Arduino is receiving is incorrect.

If I unplug the Tx/Rx leads from the Arduino and connect them together, I get the text echoed back correctly, so I'm pretty confident the cable and the RS-232 shifter are all working correctly. It's when I connect them to the Arduino that things go awry.

I've tried everything I can think of now and can't see anything else I might be doing wrong. The only thing that occurs to me now is that the Ardiuno itself may be faulty. Does that seem a likely possibility, or am I just doing something dumb somewhere?