Serial Echo code breakdown [beginner]

Hello, this is my first post on this forum. I’m fairly new to both Arduino and C programming, I’ve been playing around for a couple of days now.
I was really interested in creating a simple sketch that would echo any input from the serial monitor, but since it turned out not easy enough for me, I looked up a working code online. I would like to fully understand how it works, so a basic breakdown from a more experienced user is what I need.
The code has been commented pretty nicely, but I still have some questions.

/*
Example of processing incoming serial data without blocking.

Author:   Nick Gammon
Date:     13 November 2011. 
Modified: 31 August 2013.

Released for public use.
*/

// how much serial data we expect before a newline
const unsigned int MAX_INPUT = 50;

void setup ()
  {
  Serial.begin (115200);
  } // end of setup

// here to process incoming serial data after a terminator received
void process_data (const char * data)
  {
  // for now just display it
  // (but you could compare it to some value, convert to an integer, etc.)
  Serial.println (data);
  }  // end of process_data

void processIncomingByte (const byte inByte)
  {
  static char input_line [MAX_INPUT];
  static unsigned int input_pos = 0;

switch (inByte)
    {

case '\n':   // end of text
      input_line [input_pos] = 0;  // terminating null byte

// terminator reached! process input_line here ...
      process_data (input_line);

// reset buffer for next time
      input_pos = 0;  
      break;

case '\r':   // discard carriage return
      break;

default:
      // keep adding if not full ... allow for terminating null byte
      if (input_pos < (MAX_INPUT - 1))
        input_line [input_pos++] = inByte;
      break;

}  // end of switch

} // end of processIncomingByte  

void loop()
  {
  // if serial data available, process it
  if (Serial.available () > 0)
    processIncomingByte (Serial.read ());