serial fails after Wire.read()

I am using two slave ATmega328 to control several multiplexers and 2 sensors. A master ATmega328 sends multiplexer switch states to the slaves and requests sensor data via SPI. The master receives multiplexer switch states from Matlab via serial. The sensor data is also sent from the master via serial to Matlab for processing.

Matlab <---serial---> master <---SPI---> slaves

I am currently able to send the switch states from Matlab to the master and to the slaves. The multiplexers function as expected. Now I am working on getting the sensor data from the slaves to the master and then to Matlab. However, I have a problem when the master reads the sensor data. Here is the relevant part of my arduino code:

Serial.println('a');
    while (Serial.available() > 0 && handshake != 'y'){
      handshake = Serial.read();
      if (handshake != 'y') {
        Serial.println('a');
      }      
    }
    handshake = 'n';

// receive sensing code here
  Wire.requestFrom(1, 8);    // request 8 bytes from slave device #1

String string;
  char c;

while(Wire.available()){
      c = Wire.read();
      string = string +c;
    }

//Serial.println(string);

Serial.println('d');
    while (Serial.available() > 0 && handshake != 'y'){
      handshake = Serial.read();
      if (handshake != 'y') {
        Serial.println('d');
      }  
    }
    handshake = 'n';

The 'handshake' code is only there for debugging purposes. You can see that I have commented out the Serial.println(string) part. I am not looking to read that from serial in Matlab yet because of the following problem. When I comment out this:

while(Wire.available()){
      c = Wire.read();
      string = string +c;
    }