Serial Input (Byte ->>> Int)

I have a compiled code, “working” except the last part. I could really use help with this.

1. I am using RoboRealm to send the Webcam X mouse location (0-640) through Serial to my Uno. (It’s a 640x480 resolution, only using X)

2. Once received it was coming through in strange, so I used atoi to make it into a solid integer. When I write back to RoboRealm using Serial.print, it shows exactly what RoboRealm sent (i.e. 640 far right side, 0 far left side for cursor location) So this is great.

3. My problem is, I don’t think the int “isa” is really the value it’s showing. The reason is the LED portion doesn’t work. And even if I change that to print to the serial it always say’s I am below 300.

Below is the code, I am a noob so sorry for needing help with something probably simple! :slight_smile:

int incomingByte = 0;   
char bytes[4] = { 0, 0, 0, 0 };
int i = 0;
int isa;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600); 
        pinMode(5, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() {

if (Serial.available() > 0) {

while(i < 4) {

bytes[i] = Serial.read();
                i++;    
                       }

isa = atoi(bytes);  // isa variable              

Serial.print(isa); // When it prints back to 3rd party program 
                                   // over serial, it shows correct value. 

// THIS PORTION NOT WORKING - EVEN TESTED PRINTING TO SERIAL, ALWAYS SHOWS < 300
                // I DONT THINK "isa" IS REALLY THE VALUE IT PRINTS TO SERIAL. 

if (isa > 300) {
                digitalWrite(5, HIGH);
                               }

else {
                digitalWrite(5, LOW);
                }               
        }

i = 0;
}