serial input with parsing

This is Tom Igoe’s code which I have tried to mess about with. I am fairly new to this, and I have read Serial Input Basics. However, this seems to offer a simpler solution to separating out data sent over serial - and it worked - occasionally, then not at all. Could someone tell me what the problem is with this code?

int w1 = 0;
int w2 = 0;
int w3 = 0;
int q1 = 0;
int q2 = 0;
int q3 = 0;

void setup() {
 Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
 // Assumes a string in from the serial port like so:
 // for example: "w5,200, 5 \n":

if (Serial.find("q")) {
   q1 = Serial.parseInt(); // parses numeric characters before the comma
   q2 = Serial.parseInt();// parses numeric characters after the comma
   q3 = Serial.parseInt();
   // print the results back to the sender:
   Serial.print("q1: " );
   Serial.print(q1);
   Serial.print(" q2: ");
   Serial.print(q2);
   Serial.print(" q3: ");
   Serial.println(q3);
 } 
 else if (Serial.find("w")) {
   w1 = Serial.parseInt(); // parses numeric characters before the comma
   w2 = Serial.parseInt();// parses numeric characters after the comma
   w3 = Serial.parseInt();
   // print the results back to the sender:
   Serial.print("w1: " );
   Serial.print(w1);
   Serial.print(" w2: ");
   Serial.print(w2);
   Serial.print(" w3: ");
   Serial.println(w3);
 }

}

SerialNumericParser.ino (1.34 KB)

Well, for starters it’s not in code tags…The code tags make the code look

like this

when posting source code files. It makes it easier to read, and can be copied with a single mouse click. Also, if you don’t do it, some of the character sequences in the code can be misinterpred by the forum code as italics or funny emoticons.