Serial Interfacing problems

Hi everybody,
I’m quite new to Arduino and I’m working on my very first project. Connected an LCD on pin 8-13 and used AD5 to read out 3 buttons, works all perfect so far.

My project implies communication with a small Mini-Z R/C car. The objective is to change settings inside the car without a computer with ICS software, instead using an Andruino with LCD and buttons.

The car has a kind of single wire interface with regular serial communication like RS232, but with 5V levels. So one wire is used for Tx as well as for Rx and of course the GND is connected to the car as a reference as well.

Because of the one wire solution I wired the Arduino Uno like this:

Writing to the car works perfectly well, I can change the settings and verify these on the computer with ICS software and everything seems to work well.

When I try to read from the car, a small protocol comes into play. You need to send 0xC5 to the car, and then the car sends back a 18byte long code. Unfortunately in my setup it doesn’t.

This is the code I use to see if bytes are sent to the serial port:

void ReadProgram() {
  unsigned long timeplus3sec;
  pinMode(0, INPUT);
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.print("Read Setup");
  timeplus3sec = millis()+3000;
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.flush();
  Serial.write(0xC5);
  while((Serial.available() < 18) && (millis()<timeplus3sec)) {
    lcd.setCursor(0,1);
    lcd.print("Waiting...");
    lcd.print(Serial.available());
    delay(100);
  }
  Serial.end();
}

Unfortunately the Serial.available() counter stays on 0 and after 3 secs the code continues without having recieved anything.

Now I did some experimenting with Terminal.exe, to see if anything happens, and well there does seem to happen something:

1. Running ReadProgram(); displays C5 on my terminal screen. So, as expected, the Arduino sends a 0xC5 to the car, but no reaction comes back?