Serial LCD problems

I'm new to the Arduino world. I just purchased and received a Nano and was trying to get it to interface with a serial LCD on pin 1. This is the code I used:

// Code to test serial LCD connected to pin 1

void setup (){ Serial.begin(9600); Serial.print ("Test"); } void loop (){ }

The LCD displays gibberish. I believe that I have the baud rate set correctly and I've tested a different LCD (just to see if the LCD was bad) with the same result. I've tested the LCD with a Basic Stamp and it works fine. I tried going down to 2400 on the LCD with the corresponding code with the same issue.

The serial monitor indicates that the string is output correctly but it doesn't seem to get thru to the LCD. I'm using 0011 Alpha.

Can anyone help?

Maybe your nano's clock is not what you think it is? Can you try just sending serial data to hyperterm or something to see if that works ok?

• Ben

I tried what you suggested - hyperterm set to the same speed doesn't receive good info either. So is this a Nano related serial issue then?

If the nano's clock is not the speed you think it is, its baud won't be at the rate you think you're setting it to, which in turn means that it won't agree with the baud you're setting for your target device (be it hyperterm or your LCD).

Do you have access to an oscilloscope that you could use to measure the baud rate? Another simple test you can do is just try to blink an LED. Make a sketch that turns on the LED, delays for a second using delay(1000), turns off the LED, delays for another second, and then repeats. Run the program and time the LED blinks with your watch or some other external timer to see if the blink rate corresponds to what you expect.

You also might want to consider contacting the company from which you purchased your Arduino Nano. Maybe there are some problems with it related to its being a brand new product? Or maybe you haven't configured your Arduino environment properly for the Nano?

• Ben