Serial Monitor for instructions

Hello,

I am fairly new to Arduino, though I have done a bit of programming before. I am now taking an online class about interfacing with the Arduino and I am stuck on my latest assignment:

Write a sketch that allows a user to access data in EEPROM using the serial monitor. In the serial monitor the user should be able to type one of two commands: “read” and “write. “Read” takes one argument, an EEPROM address. “Write” takes two arguments, an EEPROM address and a value.
For example, if the user types “read 3” then the contents of EEPROM address 3 should be printed to the serial monitor. If the user types “write 3 10” then the value 10 should be written into address 3 of the EEPROM.

The EEPROM portion is easy. I have already read any memory address and written to it hard coded byte values.

My issue is that I do not seem to understand how to read a command from the Serial Monitor and use it to trigger the EEPROM portion. I have been able to get my code to read the string entered and save it in a char variable, then compare it to Read or Write to know what command was entered:

int c = 0;
int i = 0;

void setup() {
 Serial.begin(9600);
 while (!Serial) {
   ;
 }
 Serial.println("Enter read or write option in the following format");
 Serial.println("Read: Read address. Example: Read 245");
 Serial.println("Write: Write address value. Example: Write 520 123");
}

void loop() {
 c = Serial.available();
 int c1 = 0;
 int c2 = 0;
 //  Serial.print("Unread Bytes: ");
 //  Serial.println(c,DEC);
 delay (500); //To allow the whole instruction be read at once
 char instr[c];
 if (c>0){
   for (i=0;i<=c-1;i++){
     instr[i] = Serial.read();
   }
   instr[c] = '\0';
   Serial.print("Instruction entered: ");
   for (i=0;i<=c-1;i++){
     Serial.print(instr[i]);
   }
   Serial.print("\n");
   char comp1[] = "Read ";
   char comp2[] = "Write ";
   for (i=0;i<=5;i++){
     if (instr[i] == comp1[i]) c1++;
     else if (instr[i] == comp2[i]) c2++;