Serial Monitor Issues

Hello

I am beginning a project that requires me to know the value of voltage running through the circuit based on the potentiometer value. I am new to Arduino and I have realized with some tests that when I use the Serial.println command the LED in the circuit stays on no matter if the potentiometer is fully open or closed (it does dim and brighten but is never fully off, but when I remove the Serial command it does turn off and dim fine based off of the value of the potentiometer.

Why is it that the serial command seems to keep the circuit open. How can i fix this?

My circuit is setup exactly as shown here Arduino | Control LED brightness with potentiometer | Fade (with code e schematic) - YouTube . Only difference in code is I enable Serial and print the "knobvalue" not shown in the original code.

Thanks

maybe a photo of your circuit would help...

Can you please paste here the code? (use the "code" tag of the tool bar)

EDIT: Nevermind, the code is so easy that is not necessary. The code should look like this:

int knobvalue;
int potpin = 0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(11, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  knobvalue = analogRead(potpin);
  knobvalue = map(knobvalue, 0, 1023, 0, 255);
  analogWrite(11, knobvalue);

Serial.println(knobvalue);
  delay(1000);
}

BTW, the function map() is not necessary if you don't want to write the value back to the LED.

Hello
Thank you for your reply. I may not have been very clear but the issue I am having is that when I include the serial command in the code the LED stays on even when the potentiometer is fully resisting. I was wondering why the serial command seems to keep the circuit open.

We can't tell you why your code is not working if we can't see your code.