Serial Monitor VS Serial Output

Ok, I’m very new to the Arduino and I hope this isn’t too stupid a question. I have a Duemilanove and a very simple project. I need the Arduino to sense a contact closure and transmit one or another ASCII string depending on the state of the closure. Just about the simplest project possible. I’ve got the sketch built and it does what it is supposed to do. If I monitor the serial output with Serial Monitor I get the string correctly ABCDE is ABCDE and FGHIJ is FGHIJ. However when I monitor Pins 0 and 1 I get _¯ÝÕ?ë and ®½µ­?ë in the text field of my RS232 monitor running on the PC.

What is going on? What am I doing wrong?

Here is the sketch. It’s copied directly from one of the tutorials.

/*

• Alternating switch
    */

int switchPin = 2; // switch is connected to pin 2
int val; // variable for reading the pin status
int buttonState; // variable to hold the last button state

void setup() {
pinMode(switchPin, INPUT); // Set the switch pin as input

Serial.begin(9600); // Set up serial communication at 9600bps
buttonState = digitalRead(switchPin); // read the initial state
}

void loop(){
val = digitalRead(switchPin); // read input value and store it in val

if (val != buttonState) { // the button state has changed!
if (val == LOW) { // check if the button is pressed
Serial.println(“ABCDE”);
} else { // the button is -not- pressed…
Serial.println(“FGHIJ”);
}
}

buttonState = val; // save the new state in our variable
}

Is the monitor set for the correct baud rate?

and is it expecting TTL levels vs RS232?

It is set for the correct baud rate however it is expecting RS-232 and not TTL. Which thanks to bill2009 and re-reading the spec page I now realize that that is what Pins 0 and 1 are sending. Now I need to read up on how to actually get RS-232 out of the board.
Thanks.

Now I need to read up on how to actually get RS-232 out of the board.