serial or pwm for motor controler?

which one would be easyer i have ordered the Arduino Duemilanove a few days ago and it is being shipped so i don't have it yet to try anything and since this is my first micro controler project im still a noob (contructive critisimn please :) )and i have found 2 cheap motor controlers one is serial and one is PWM i know about the motor shield but i don't have a good solder gun and i can't find it anywere assembled. so my question is what one will be the easyest to program and run 2 motors at the same time. it looks to me that the serial one would be the easyest but in the code samples for teh arduino i cna only find were it sends charaters to the serial and not the actual bytes. also if anyone could point me to some good turtorials that would be nice. ty

I have never used serial motor drivers so I don't know much about them, but i have used pwm controlled motor drivers.

For pwm controlled drivers like http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8905, you control the speed of the motor by pulsing the PWM pin. The arduino has pins that automatically pulse when they recieve an analogWrite(pin#, value(0-255));

Here is an example sketch from the playground. http://akashxav.com/2009/04/18/arduino-l293d-dc-motor/

int pwmPin = 9;  //Motor's PWM pin
int dPin_1 = 6;// Digital Pin to turn the motor on/off
int dPin_2 = 7;
int ledPin = 13; //LED pin

void setup()
{
pinMode(dPin_1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(dPin_2, OUTPUT);
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); // turn on LED
digitalWrite(dPin_1, HIGH); //turn on the motor
digitalWrite(dPin_2, LOW);

//Apply PWM to the motor
for(int i=0; i<=255; i++)
{
analogWrite(pwmPin, i);
delay(100);
}

delay(1000); //delay for a second

//switch directions
digitalWrite(dPin_1, LOW);
digitalWrite(dPin_2, HIGH);

for(int i=255; i>=0; i--)
{
analogWrite(pwmPin, i);
delay(100);
}

digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); // turn off LED
digitalWrite(dPin_1, LOW); //turn off motor