Serial parsing code working on Uno, but not on Due. Can't figure out why....

Hello,

I’ve been working on code to control 4 servos via serial input on the Due. The first version of the code I wrote works, but there was a very significant latency in the response of the servos. The second version of the code I am working on works fine on the Uno and has gotten rid of the latency, but I get nothing happening on the Due.

I have very little programing experience, the functional parts of the code I have drawn from two sources I found online.

I am sending a string (from Max) to the arduino that reads, pre ‘atoi’, 6:1352&7:2055&8:2400&9:2800&, then post atoi, ‘append 32 12’. The number before the ‘:’ is the servo/pin ID and the number after is the position. (I am running 12bit servos, and my servo accepts a frequency of 330Hz, which is set in the Due variant.h).

Any help would be greatly appreciated! This project is very significant in my life, not just a side hobby.

Here is the problem code (which works perfectly, minus the Due specific analogWriteResolution, on Uno):

char buffer[50]; 
int bufferindex = 0; 

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(115200);  

}

void loop()
{
 bufferindex = 0; 
 do
{
    buffer[bufferindex] = Serial.read();      // get a byte from the serial port 

if (buffer[bufferindex]!=-1) bufferindex = bufferindex+1;      // -1 if no byte is present

} while (buffer[bufferindex-1] != 32);    //keep collecting bytes until a space is received

// Read each command pair 
char* command = strtok(buffer, "&");
while (command != 0)
{
    // Split the command in two values
    char* separator = strchr(command, ':');
    if (separator != 0)
    {
        // Actually split the string in 2: replace ':' with 0
        *separator = 0;
        int servoId = atoi(command);
        ++separator;
        int pos = atoi(separator);

analogWriteResolution(12);
  analogWrite(servoId,pos);

}

// Find the next command in input string
    command = strtok(0, "&");

}

}