Serial Port Greyed out all of a Sudden!!

Hi,

O.k. so I've been using my Arduino for 6 months+ for a college project with no issues (except my own wiring or coding mistakes!). I use my own desktop at home and my girlfriends laptop when at the lab in college. .

Then today the serial port in Tools Menu on the laptop is greyed out and the Arduino doesn't show up in device manager (Win7). I just got home and tried on my computer and same thing.

The code I last uploaded to it is still there and working when I plug the Arduino in using a U.S.B. cable and I tried a different cable with no luck.

I also use the EasyVR shield but removing it makes no difference.

I know there were about 11 automatic updates on Windows 7 last night when I turned off the computer, could this have caused a conflict??

Hoping someone has some ideas to help me, or advice on troubleshooting, .... any help is greatly appreciated as the thesis is due in 2 weeks!

Ok... Turns out I have a friend who had an unused Uno on his shelf.. Plugged it in and it works fine... I read somewhere I may have fecked the bootloader.... does this sound like the right answer???

The bootloader has nothing to do with the board appearing to the OS.

That's handled by the usb-to-serial chip. In the case of a Uno that is either a 8u2 or 16u2.

Thanks for the reply... Is there a way to test if this is working so I can begin the process of elimination... Thanks

Tman0708:
Thanks for the reply... Is there a way to test if this is working so I can begin the process of elimination... Thanks

Test #1: Does anything appear in device manager?

No, tried on both computers… No other devices section in device manager or sign of it anywhere else

It was definitely there previously as I remember having to find it when I first bought it and was going through the usual setup issues

Process of elimination, the usb to serial chip is broken.