Serial.print Incomplete String?

Hello, i’m new to Arduino, thank you for create this, it is fun and easy to control the hardware.

now i face the problem that serial.print Incomplete String? my board is Arduino Nano (unofficial), my code is below:

String input_string = "";
bool stringComplete = false;

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600); //Set the Baud rate
  input_string.reserve(200);
}

void loop(){

if (stringComplete) {

Serial.print("input_string: ");
    Serial.println(input_string);
    input_string = "";
    stringComplete = false;

}
}

void serialEvent() {
  while (Serial.available()) {
    // get the new byte:
    char inChar = (char)Serial.read();
    // add it to the input_string:
    if (inChar != '.') {
      input_string += inChar;
    }
    // if the incoming character is a newline, set a flag so the main loop can
    // do something about it:
    if (inChar == '.') {
      stringComplete = true;
    }
  }
}

this is based on ‘sample’, ‘communication’, ‘SerialEvent’.

on Serial Monitor, then i input ‘a,b,c,d.’, sometimes the arduino print

09:05:31.175 -> input_string: a,b,c,d ← right

but sometimes the arduino print:

09:05:31.175 -> input_string: b,c,d ← Incomplete, this is easy to happen when i open the serial monitor and input ‘a,b,c,d.’ for FIRST TIME.

i don’t know why, any comment is welcome, thanks.

I usually add a count down delay on start to my sketches

Serial.begin(9600);
  for (int i = 10; i > 0; i--) {
    Serial.println(i);  delay(500);
  }

Then enter data after that. Some boards start as soon as the upload finishes, other restart on the monitor opening.

Also check out my Arduino Software Solutions
for a whole range of solutions to reading text from Serial with the pros and cons of each.
Includes non-blocking reads and non-blocking flushing examples

You’re typing characters before the Arduino has finished restarting when the serial monitor opens.