Serial Print Not Displaying

Good morning.

I am new to using the Arduino. My aim is to have a programme that will display the time on a LCD and also trigger events each second, minute and hour.

I have built a working LCD clock using a guide from Instructables and am now trying to include a trigger for the events. I found some code from another guide and have merged the two.

The new programme compiles and loads correctly, but does not appear to execute. The display continues to operate correctly, but when I open the serial monitor, nothing shows in it. I wish to use the monitor to check what the time is and to monitor events as I try to create them.

I have posted my code in the attachment: would anyone be able to suggest quite where I have gone wrong? The serial print section is at the end of the code.

Thank you.

James

LED_Timer_Controller.ino (8.31 KB)

Where in the program do you call the trigger_LED() function ?

digitalWrite(99, HIGH);

How many digital pins does your Arduino have ?

I have not written the trigger in yet as I wanted to get the serial print working first. I shall probably put it where I the current trigger is and define it in set up. I plan to use pin 13 with the built-in LED for testing. The reference to pin 99 is a dummy from the example code that I used.

I am using an Uno board.

Please read the post by Nick Gammon at the top of the Forum on how to post here, especially the use of code tags when presenting source code. For smaller programs, attaching the code is not a good idea as a lot of people here do not like to open unknown files. Also, before you post your code using code tags, use Ctrl-T in the IDE. It will reformat your code into a standard style format.

OK. Let's take this slowly

The only place in the code where you Serial.print() anything is in the trigger_LED() function
Your program does not call the trigger_LED() function

Can you see why you might not be seeing any serial output ?

Bob,