Serial printing - odd results

I’m delving into the world of Arduino and having a blast so far.

My first project is likely a little too ambitious for a newbie, but I have some experience with the Processing.org language so figure I’m off to a good start.

I’m using the Arduino to interface with an old dot matrix printer (Citizen 120D from 1986). I’ve managed to get this ironed out to the point of getting a signal to the printer from the Arduino (via a MAX232 converter to up the voltage to the RS232 interface standard).
Really simple code at this point. (shown below) just to get something over to the printer.
The problem is that I’m getting some odd results.
Simple ‘Hello World’ type message that should be going over in ASCII (I’m guessing) and its resulting in this…(See the attachment)

Some characters printed and others are only the P in a square.
I know it’s not something wrong with the printer as I have another one (a Citizen 120D+) that does exactly the same thing.

Any suggestions?

void setup ()
{
Serial.begin(9600); //set printer baud rate
}

void loop() //looping sequence
{

Serial.write(“Hello World”); //Print “Hello world” to buffer
delay(2000);

}

'P' for "parity error"?

Slight update…

Tried it with the following code to just send over the ASCII codes.
Results are the same

void setup ()
{
}

{

Serial.write(72); //Print “H”
Serial.write(101); //Print “e”
Serial.write(108); //Print “l”
Serial.write(111); //Print “o”
Serial.write(32); //Print " "
Serial.write(119); //Print “w”
Serial.write(111); //Print “o”
Serial.write(114); //Print “r”
Serial.write(100); //Print “d”
Serial.write(32); //Print " "
Serial.write(13); //CR

delay(1000);

}

Good call.

I’ve switched the parity on the printer, and it’s reversed the way it prints the characters.

and thats switched what it prints out correctly.

Is there a way to define parity on the outgoing signal from the Arduino?