Serial read from a machine protocol. Anyone please help

well, I am new in arduino. so anyone can give me an example I would be appreciated much.
I have a machine that use serial protocol to get the measurement data from it. The protocol was attatched below:

My problem is after I sent the “M|E|S|CR|LF” via serial port to the machine, the machine give me back with a number of unknown letter.

I only want to extract the number (for example 5000 as in attatched) from the receive bytes. also I found out that the receive bytes have a lot of white space, does arduino has any function to do with it, to trim it out I just need the number left.

Thank you in advance, if anyone give some example would help me much.
btw, sorry for my english if you do not understand it all.

Is your machine using RS232? If so then you need to convert it into TTL levels before you feed it into the arduino.

Have you got the baud rate and data format matching on the two devices.

Grumpy_Mike: Is your machine using RS232? If so then you need to convert it into TTL levels before you feed it into the arduino.

Have you got the baud rate and data format matching on the two devices.

Thanks Grumpy, I have finished that part, right now the problem is how can I extract the measured number from the receive protocol.

I thought that the problem you were having is that the numbers don't make sense.

If you are having trouble with your code then please post it.

Grumpy_Mike: I thought that the problem you were having is that the numbers don't make sense.

Well, I have got that receive protocol but have no idea for extracting those measured number. any suggested idea would help. Thank you very much. Refer to my attatchment, please see the received side.

lovemachinez:

Grumpy_Mike: I thought that the problem you were having is that the numbers don't make sense.