Serial.read() input

Hey guys,

When I use the line "Serial.read()" I would like the variable that I send, that it is used as, for instance, when I send "4", that the arduino doesn't use the 52th key, but the number 4.

Could anyone help me out?

this is my code:

/* By inserting 1 variable in the Serial monitor, I should get the table of that number

• Created by Foitn
  • Written on 28-09-2014
    */

void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
if(Serial.available() > 0){
char incomingbyte = Serial.read();
for(int i = 0; i <= 20; i++){
Serial.print(incomingbyte);
Serial.print(" * ");
Serial.print(i);
Serial.print(" = ");
char answer = incomingbyte * i;
Serial.println(answer);
}
}
}

I would like the variable that I send, that it is used as, for instance, when I send "4", that the arduino doesn't use the 52th key, but the number 4.

Look at an ASCII table. http://www.asciitable.com/ Perhaps a clue will present itself.

'4' - '0' = ?

Hey foitn
I am a beginner and also strugling with the serial communication :slight_smile:
Try change the line "char incomingbyte = Serial.read();" to " char incomingbyte = Serial.read()-'0';
I think it should work

Hey guys,

I've changed my code, this is what I've done:
/* By inserting 1 variable in the Serial monitor, I should get the table of that number

• Created by Foitn
  • Written on 28-09-2014
    */

void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
while(Serial.available() > 0){
char incomingbyte = Serial.read();
for(int i = 0; i <= 20; i++){
Serial.print(incomingbyte);
Serial.print(" * ");
Serial.print(i);
Serial.print(" = ");
int answer = (incomingbyte-48) * i;
Serial.println(answer);
}
}
}

It helped me a lot, thnx!!!

int answer = (incomingbyte-48) * i;

Two weeks from now, will you remember why you are subtracting 48? Two weeks from now, would you remember why you are subtracting '0'?

They are the same value, but one implies a lot more than the other.