serial read not working correctly

So I just started learning arduino and have been playing around with Serial.read() and Serial.readString(). I made a sketch that will turn on and off a motor based on what input comes in from the serial port. “11” turns the motor on, “22” turns it in the other direction, and “33” turns it off, and all three are supposed to print a different string to the serial monitor, and also print back the string that I input. When I upload the sketch, the motor turns on, confirming that the sketch works, but nothing happens when I give it input using a serial monitor. I even made a windows forms app that writes to the serial port to see if the serial monitor was the problem, but that does not work either. I don’t really know if it is Serial.readString(), or if I just did something stupid to the if statements. My code should be attached and any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

void setup() {
  pinMode(22, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(24, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(26, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(22,HIGH);
  digitalWrite(24,HIGH);
  digitalWrite(26,LOW);
  Serial.begin(57600);
}

void loop() {
  String readSerial;
  if(Serial.available() > 0) {
    readSerial = Serial.readString();

if(readSerial == "11") {
        digitalWrite(24,HIGH);
        digitalWrite(26,LOW);
        Serial.print("asdf");
    }  
    else if(readSerial == "22") {
        digitalWrite(24,LOW);
        digitalWrite(26,HIGH);
        Serial.print("jkl;");
    }  
    else if(readSerial == "33") {
        digitalWrite(22,LOW);
        digitalWrite(24,LOW);
        digitalWrite(26,LOW);
        Serial.write("qwerty");
    }
    Serial.print(readSerial);
  }
}

SerialReadTest.ino (782 Bytes)

Please read the how to use the forum sticky post it will tell you about posting code correctly. The point is that a lot of mobile platforms will not cope with .ino files, even though they are only text files.