Serial reading in two digit numbers

Alright so this is my first assigned task to conquer with my arduino. I’m controlling a blinking LED through the serial monitor. I have chosen to code it to accept an integer as the HZ of the LED. I originally had a switch statement to handle the input of 1-9 but have chosen to make the program capable of taking in any integer value. Im having trouble taking in two digit numbers and storing them as their true decimal value to be used in a formula. Im well trained in C++ but this is my first time with C so I apologize if any of this seems trivial. Thanks in advance.

void setup() 
{
    //start serial communication
    Serial.begin(9600);
    //assign pin 9 for output
    pinMode(9, OUTPUT);
}

//initialize variable for time delay
double time;

void loop() 
{
    //Blink the LED while no serial data is available
    while(Serial.available() == 0)
    {
      digitalWrite(9, HIGH);   // set the LED on
      delay(time);              // wait for a second
      digitalWrite(9, LOW);    // set the LED off
      delay(time); 
    }

//Assign the serial input to a variable
    char inputC[5] = {0,0,0,0,0};
    int count = 0;
    while(Serial.available() > 0)
    { 
      delay(10);
      inputC[count] = Serial.read();
      count++;
    }

Serial.println(count);
    //if statements to multiply array positions by powers of 10
    if(count==2)
      inputC[0] = inputC[0]*10;
    if(count==3)
    {
      inputC[0] = inputC[0]*100;
      inputC[1] = inputC[1]*10;
    }
    if(count==4)
    {
      inputC[0] = inputC[0]*1000;
      inputC[1] = inputC[1]*100;
      inputC[2] = inputC[2]*10;
    }
    if(count==5)
    {
      inputC[0] = inputC[0]*10000;
      inputC[1] = inputC[1]*1000;
      inputC[2] = inputC[2]*100;
      inputC[3] = inputC[3]*10;
    }

//Add all applicable array elements up
    double input = 0;
    int count2 = 0;
    Serial.println(count2);
    while(count2 < count)
    {
      double inputD = 0;