Serial: Sending Ints

Hi,

I'm pretty new to arduino an playing a bit around with it. Currently, I kind of fail interpreting ints I send via Serial to my PC. Thats my arduino code:

int interval = 1000;  
unsigned int count = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {
  Serial.write(count);
  count++;
  delay(interval);

}

So I just send an increasing int via Serial. Unfortunately, I am not able to interpret the values I receive if count is greater then 127. Here is what I get (i just print each byte I receive to stdout using Java, first in binary (lsb first!) and then the number interpreted as signed byte).

00000000, 0
10000000, 1
01000000, 2
10111110, 125
01111110, 126
11111110, 127
01000011, -62
00000001, -128
01000011, -62
10000001, -127

So up to 127 my Arduino device sends one byte, if its greater then 127 two. But I do not see where is the 128 resp 129 in the 2 bytes. Can any body help me out?

What I would like best if i could send always two bytes representing my int in a way I can interpret is somehow on the other side.

Hope somebody can help, cya

SomeNewGuy

Have you tried using Serial.println(count); instead? The reason I ask is the serial monitor doesn't seem to like .write which you are using above, and it spits out what I assume to be the ascii table instead.

01000011, -62

01000011 is most definitely NOT negative.

a.d: Have you tried using Serial.println(count); instead? The reason I ask is the serial monitor doesn't seem to like .write which you are using above, and it spits out what I assume to be the ascii table instead.