Serial setup input parameters

Complete novice here. After 40 years in IT, time to actually code something. The project is a distributor simulator for testing ignition amplifiers. Basically, I want to be able to generate a pulse stream with a specific on and off time. Easy enough. Got that working as my first scheme, but with embedded parameters. I want to be able to set the parameters from the Serial Console. I got a couple schemes working for reading the USP port.

Here is where I get stuck. Both functions work within loop(). What approach will let me input two parameters through the console using one loop, then switch to a loop that generates the pulse stream. Unlike some of the signal generator projects out there, I need to enter specific exact values, not just use a couple of pots. I only need it to run once, as I can use the NMI button when I want to enter new values.

Yes, I could stack them both in one loop, poll the port, generate a pulse, poll, etc. Not the way to get the precision needed. I found the scheduler library, but not sure that is what I am looking for.

In other words, run one loop() to get the parameters, break out and run the generator loop() until I either hit NMR or maybe add a button on a interrupt.

What approach is recommended?

Go to Google and search for "Ardustim". It is a sketch specifically made for this purpose. It will output crank and cam signals at the same time. Also has a GUI which makes setup a lot easier.

I see he did this in real C, not Arduino. That may be a big hint.
I know how many digits I will accept, so if I make the input two digits for dwell and four for rpm requires, I can parse the string to get both parameters and use the /n as the trigger to exit the loop. That is the issue' how to get out of one loop and into another. I can do one or the other, not one and then the other.

const int ledPin = 10;
int param1 = 0;
int param2 = 0;
void test() {
  while (1) {
    analogWrite(ledPin, param1);
    delay(1000);