serial to PC instead of SD card logging

My queueing project is working, recording data from 7 units via wireless links.

I am not happy with the SD card reader for logging , partly becuse I think the time it takes to write each time is making it miss some of the incoming data, and partly because there is no realtime info.

I want to change it to a simpler system that outputs a serial CSV string to a PC via a RS232 serial link, every time a button is pressed.

I am just learning about Serial comms.

Can I just use TXD and RXD through a MAX232 level converter to a 9pin serial connector ?

In fact can I just use the TXD ( I want to use the RXD for one of the radio link inputs )

Just need a bit of guidance before I fire up the soldering iron...

You only need a RS232 if your computer doesn't have a USB port (which also provides serial communications). So if your currently using an Arduino with an RS232 port to load your sketches to continue to use that port for receiving your CSV file; however, if you are already using a USB port to program your Arduino, it would be fine for serial communication as well.

Now, your assumption that you can serially transmit your 'log' via a csv file (which means converting values to text) via a serial connection is faster than logging via SD is problematic. Writing to SD can be faster. One you can easily write raw data without converting to text (which you can also do with serial communications) and second there are a number of threads on how to optimize for speed.

A major technique for immproving SD speed is to write buffers of data that measure 512 bytes, rather than individual records. This only adds a little complexity to your code.

Thanks Wanderson, very interesteing about the packet size for saving on SD cards, I will try that on another project I have that uses cards.

Now its up and running, I see this project needs the realtime data to a screen.