serial transfer to embroidery machine

I work for a small embroidery company and we have our embroidery machines downstairs and the computer that makes the files for it upstairs. I was wondering if it was possible to take the data exported from the application send it via bluetooth where the arduino transfers it via rs232 to the machines. i wanted to know before i start trying to build it and get frustrated because it doesn't work.

The Arduino can almost certainly do what you want, though it might not be your best choice.

How much data do you need to transfer, and to how many machines?

two machines the size varies, right now we are running off floppies (i'm an intern and it made me cringe. my boss buys them in bulk when he can find them), so less than 1.44 mb of course. they are Barudan BEVY-Z1508C, he is looking at purchasing a solution for like 500 dollars but i said one could probably be built for less. the serial r232 would be for just transferring designs

now that i think about it what would be my best choice?

I would think there is many different options you have at your fingertips. We should probably know more information only.

If only control 1 device with another device, then simple. < $50

If you want a device to record/buffer from anothe devide, then you will spend more.

Not sure about the distance, but you could use a UDS device. That’s why I use. Serial encapsulated via TCP IP. Kind of like sendial serial to LCD devices. So, you can have a computer or simply a sdram logging the data.

Can you be more clear

Why are thumbdrives not the answer?

How are the floppies being "fed into" the sewing machines at the moment? Do they have built in floppy drives? Serial ports? Or does each have a small pc that "feeds" it? Windows? Mac? Linux?

Do you/ could you have a LAN between the computer room and the sewing room?

We need to know answers to things like the following to advise on a "good" solution...