serialEvent() with the Esplora,Leo, Micro

Hello,

is this limitation just a question of patience and wait for implementation or is it a permanently hardware problem ?

NB : Currently, serialEvent() is not compatible with the Esplora, Leonardo, or Micro

wally

You don't need to use serialEvent anyway. I never do.

In your main loop check for Serial.available and act accordingly.

Nick,

yes, sure, this is the polling approach but is not very efficient.
The event driven approach has also advantages dependent on task.
An answer is still highly welcome.

wally

All that serialEvent does is poll the outstanding serial requests after calling loop.

This is main.cpp:

#include <Arduino.h>
int main(void)
{
	init();

#if defined(USBCON)
	USBDevice.attach();
#endif

setup();   
	for (;;) {
		loop();
		if (serialEventRun) serialEventRun();
	}      
	return 0;
}

See? Polling.

Just move your test for serial data into loop and you have something just as efficient.

Hi to All

I’m a newbie of Arduino and C language

I have a problem on above code

That is Pure C , can somebody help me transform it in Arduino IDE language , this can help me also to understand how it work .

Best Regards

Francesco

That is Pure C , can somebady help me transform it in Arduino IDE language ,

Yes, it is C/C++
So it already is the "Arduino language"

AWOL:

That is Pure C , can somebady help me transform it in Arduino IDE language ,

Yes, it is C/C++
So it already is the "Arduino language"

But if i put on arduino Ide give me some compilation error

Sorry i'm really newbie

Thanks

The IDE provides that code for you invisibly, so all you need to do is provide the bodies of "setup" and "loop"

AWOL,

can you provide a complete sketch which demonstrates it, please ?
thx

void setup ()
{
}
void loop()
{
}

It's done for you, and it's invisible

What is it you want to do?

Thank you for your answer and your time

And also thanks to Wally123 for support me XD

AWOL,