Servo actuators, sensors and external power.

Hi, please keep in mind I'm a total newbie in the electronic world before answering. I tried too read as much as I could before posting this and I'll try to make things as clear as possible. Right now, I'm not even thinking about code. I'm much more less comfortable with the hardware and I don't want to fry or damage my Arduino.

I'm planning on using an arduino to help me automate two things in my mini-greenhouse. FYI, the box is about 36" x 32" x 18" made of wood and a cover of plexiglas.

The temperatures are rising very fast when it's full sun so, I need to open the top cover. I was thinking of using an high-torque/geared servo and a rod to make an actuator or maybe a crank-window system. Would the servo be strong enough to lift it? In what range of torque should I be looking for ? Would it be strong enough to hold it closed when it's windy ? If not, what would be your suggestion ? I can't really afford those 100$ actuators like Firgelli even if it would probably the best solution. I understood that a servo that had pressure applied would draw more current. Possibly too much for the arduino so I would need an additional power source and activate everything with a relay, right?

Next step would be to had two sensors: Temp/humid and luminosity. Would it be possible to have all of these (3 total) powered through that external 5V source and have the arduino powered on his side from USB or 9v? I then would have to sum up those mA to know the 5VDC warth to buy.

I understood that a servo that had pressure applied would draw more current. Possibly too much for the arduino so I would need an additional power source and activate everything with a relay, right?

A couple of basics, you usually don't power servos from an arduino, and relays are usually not used with servos. To take the load off of the servo, counter balance the lid such that the servo does not have to hold any load, just move the lid.