Servo control: extremely confused noob

Hello everyone,
I am an absolute newbie, so please forgive me if
a. this has been asked before (see below)
b. it’s in the wrong sub-forum

I have been trying to get a mini servo working for some time. What I want to do is to get it to rotate 60 degrees on a button push and stay there. When the button is pushed again, I want it come back to zero.

I have tried searching and found similar (though not identical) problems. I have tried using the suggestions, but keep getting stuck at the same point.

What happens is that when I run my sketch and press the button, the servo rotates a few degrees (about 5, I guess) and comes back to zero. If I long press the push button, the servo rotates in 5 degree steps and then after 4 or 5 presses swings back to zero. I tested the servo using the sweep sketch in the examples and the servo rotates without a problem.

Since it is a mini servo, I am powering it off the Arduino board. Once I get the basic structure right and use multiple servos I will be using a separate power supply. I have put in a 10k resistor in the circuit. The rest is just the pushbutton and the servo.

Please take a look at my code and tell me what I am doing wrong. Also would a regular toggle switch work better for what I want to do?

Thank you for any guidance and pointers.

Ashok

#include <Servo.h>

int servoPin = 9; //servo on pin  9
int buttPin = 3; //push button on pin 3

Servo servo01; //plan to eventually have many servos

int pos = 0; //servo position
int buttonState = 1; //reading the button state

void setup()
{
  servo01.attach(9); //servo atached
  pinMode(buttPin, INPUT); //button initialised
  pinMode(servoPin, OUTPUT); 
}

void loop()
{
  buttonState = digitalRead(buttPin);
  if (buttonState == HIGH)
  {
    for(pos = 0; pos < 60; pos = pos+1)
    {
    servo01.write(pos);
    delay(10);
    }
  }
  else if (buttonState == LOW)
  {
    for(pos < 60; pos = 0; pos = pos-1)
    servo01.write(pos);