Servo keeps going every 12mins

I'm building an automatic chicken feeder and I've got all my sensors, and a screen working fine.

The one thing that's giving me grief is the servo side of things. I'm using the Time/TimeAlarm libraries to set alarms which will move the servo. In my code I'm setting it to activate once per day. So, for example:

Alarm.alarmRepeat(17,30,0,EveningAlarm);

By rights it should only activate at 17:30 each day. And it does. But after that it activates about every 12 minutes.

My full code is at: Automatic Chicken Feeder · GitHub

Yeah, the code is a bit sloppy, but I'm an amateur at this. :grin:

Any help would be much appreciated.

Do you have a PULLUP resistor on button?
If not try one, or use INPUT_PULLUP.

I have a pull down resistor on my push button. Would the push button (which is for a manual feed) be able to falsely trigger the servo?

Thanks for the idea. I'll certainly look into that. It's something I hadn't thought of.

It's much easier if you post your code here. If it is too long you can add it as an attachment.

...R

The code is pretty long, so I'll attach it to this post.

chicken-feeder.ino (7.2 KB)

I don't know the Alarm library or why it keeps repeating but you can easily stop it by setting a variable to record that the alarm action has happened. For example

void EveningAlarm(){
  if (alarmDone == false) {
    Serial.println("Alarm!");
    digitalWrite(greenLED, HIGH);      // GREEN LED ON
    dispense(opened,closed);
    digitalWrite(greenLED, LOW);      // GREEN LED OFF
    alarmDone = true;
  }
}

You would obviously need to set alamDone back to false at some other time of the day.

...R

LarryD:
Do you have a PULLUP resistor on button?
If not try one, or use INPUT_PULLUP.

I tried taking the button out of circuit completely, and it still randomly triggers :confused:

Remove the section of code (and switch) that enables manual feeding.
If things correct, you are picking up noise on the switch.

LarryD: