Servo Motor Control

Hello,

Its my first time and I wish to control a normal gas / water valve using servo motor.

As valve needs only 90 degree to be open / close , I wish to initialize servo position to 90 degree. Then in loop it could move 45 + and 45 - ,

Now I only need the initial 90 degree once only ( I think ) , shall I still write it in void loop ( ) ?

Any tips for newbies ?

shall I still write it in void loop ( ) ?

If it needs to be positioned only once then do it in the setup() function.

How is the servo powered ? "From the Arduino 5V and GND pins" is the wrong answer.

From my judgement , It is bad to power anything at all from Arduino so I will make a battery pack for it. So external battery.

Alright then so if I write in setup()

" int pos = 90; object.write(pos); "

It will be good enough?

I cannot make more than a single post in 5 minutes I guess so here it is...

My teacher wishes us to understand motors, and he also wishes us to start to program electronics, aim is not to make things efficient but to get the job done. It is a project, even though it seems absurd to control such a valve , one could just use solenoid valve, But I understand that I need to start working on programmable ROMs and so I am ...

So I have a servo motor, I have a valve, I have an idea of coupling assembly ...

The valve can rotate 180 and so can the servo , but servo does not rotate necessarily 180 , sometimes more sometimes less ( not authentic source ) but I still want to get the middle 90 degree rotation. Middle 90 I can get by initializing servo to 90 degree, then valve can be opened by + 45 and closed by - 45 . That way I can be sure that my range of control lies within the range of motor or something and that the shaft would actually to go the point and not get stuck or something ...

Descriptive enough ? :p