Servo motor + joystick module = 10v....I have 9v battery

Hi,

Sorry if this is potentially a silly question but I'm just getting started.

I have a Elegoo Uno board (from starter pack) on which I'm attaching a joystick module and a servo motor. When the joystick is moved - the servo motor operates. This works fine when plugged into my laptop via usb. The issue comes when it is unplugged and powered by the 9v battery.

The issue is that the servo moto only vibrates - i've realised that this is likely because the servo motor and joystick module require 5v each so there's simply not enough power available.

What is the solution to this? Obviously I need a bigger battery, but what type? My whole project probably won't require much more power than this so I'm just looking for something simple and low cost.

Thanks

Rich

Use a battery of lower voltage, best 7V, or power everything from a 5V supply. A 9V block battery is not sufficient as a motor supply.

Your question suggests you are powering the servo from the "5V" pin on the Arduino and this works when powered from the USB port. Generally, a servo requires more current than the USB port is rated for but if not significantly loaded and only moving intermittently, it will likely work for the moment. :roll_eyes:

You connected the battery to "Vin" or the "barrel jack", didn't you?