Servo motor or stepper?

Hi everyone,

I am new to Arduino so please bear with me if I have silly questions.

I am trying to build a motion controlled tripod head for my camera. I have read a lot of things on stepper and servo motor but I can't decide which one will be the more appropriate for my project.

I have seen a lot of guys using stepper motor for sliders or pan & tilt head but from what I understand they are maybe less reliable regarding their position.

I want to be able to record and recreate exactly the same motion with the head that's why I consider the servo as they are more precise?

That's the most important thing, I really need accuracy for this project. Basically I will need to shoot multiple videos, with always the same timing. It's not just about controlling the tripod head with motor, it's about doing it precisely, repeatedly.

It does not need to make a 360 degrees revolution so the limitation of 180 degrees for most of the servo motor is not a problem.

Thank you

What do you call "precise"? Exactly how accurate and repeatable does the position need to be? Within say 1 degree every time? 0.1 degrees? +/-5 degrees, 95% of the time? If you want precision you need to make your specification precise. Engineers are not good at working to woolly requirements.

Most hobby servos are easy to get to roughly the same position every time but not with any great accuracy. Generally stepper motors are more difficult to position because they don't have a fixed starting point but they are reasonably accurate in their movements. You can get servos that are very accurate and very repeatable but they also tend to be very expensive, what's your budget?

Steve

I agree with @slipstick.