Servo movement as a function of input value

Hello,

I’m trying to make a mechanical shutter with the servo MG995. The shutter movement will be controlled by Labview, by the way. It means the Arduino board will be regarded as VISA serial connection with PC which can send and read a signal via Labview. I’m not sure this is possible or not. But, I will check this after I can finish a code.

What I’m curious about is that can we make a code that servo movement is controlled by input value. There are two input values: “y” or “n”. If “y” is sent to the Arduino, the Servo should rotate 60 degree and return back to its original position. If “n” is sent to the Arduino, the Servo should not move at all.

I can find several codes that Servo do the continuous sweeping action but can’t find any code with the previous description.

I have no experience with computer programming. I’m just trying to fix the old lab equipment by making a new mechanical shutter with a Arduino board.

Please give me any ideas about the code or any resources that can be helpful for making this code.

Thanks!!

Here is some information on handling serial communiction.

What I’m curious about is that can we make a code that servo movement is controlled by input value.

Of course.

if(Serial.available() > 0)
   {
      char c = Serial.read();
      if(c == 'y')
      {
         yourServo.write(60);
         yourServo.write(0);
      }
   }

It seems pointless to send a value that says do nothing, when not sending a value says the same thing.

That code will do exactly what you asked for, but will probably not do what you want. Adding a delay() between the two calls to Servo::write() will probably be necessary.

takim717: If "y" is sent to the Arduino, the Servo should rotate 60 degree and return back to its original position. If "n" is sent to the Arduino, the Servo should not move at all.