Servo Question about Torque (Physics/Mechanics Problem)

Hi,

I am a total beginner. Just bought my arduino a month ago. My first projekt will be an automated Nerv-Gun turret. So far I have got the basic setup and coding covered. Next step is getting the parts and building it: So the big question right now is: How much torque should the 2 servos have?

So far my specs: [u]Size of gun is about 0.8m; weight is 1.4kg[/u] I want to control rotation (180°) and tilt (90°) with one servo each.

After some google/wikipedia/etc. i came up with this: Torque = I * "alpha" The moment of inertia I = 1/12 m * L² (i figuered to assume the gun as a long stick with equal mass distribution would serve my needs of accuracy. Also I plan on mounting it at its center of gravity)

So if i want the gun to turn fast and to be stopped quickly, without the wobbling i have observed in many similar projects, how strong a servo must i get?

Torque = I * "alpha"

"alpha"?

The greek Alpha, i can not write it here (?).
The formula is as follows:
Torque = Inertia x Angular acceleration(alpha)

With some more Google I am now this far:
Assuming that the gun turns 90° in a second and manages to start/stop in 0.10 seconds that should get me an angular acceleration:
Velocity would be: V = pi/4 * 1/t
Differentiating this leads to acceleration: a = -pi/4 * 1/t²
And torque: t = 0.11666 * pi/4 * 1/0.1² = 0.916…Nm
I have no idea if this is right or if these are realistic values…?
The more i learn about this the more confused i am …

The most realistic thing to do is see what sized servos have been used by others making the same type device. If the mount is well designed to reduce friction and no weight holding by the servos, then smaller servos could be used.

There's no simple answer to your question. Without reading a physics book, it's probably too hard to try to explain how to design this properly. Your best bet is therefore trial and error. Here are some basic statements though: