Servo switch and wiring layout questions.

Hi,

Im a bit of a noob when it comes to electronics but slowly learning. Im making a replica portal gun and finally about to tackle the guts of it.

I was wondering if someone could have a look to the wiring schematic i drew up and tell me if there is something glaringly wrong before i go and fry yet another board.

Give me one sec if the attachment isnt there.
Thank you in advance for any help anyone can give.

By the name, yo already know that is NOT a schematic. It is really to difficult to try to follow all the colored lines to try to figure out what is connected to what, and then there are the things that cannot be identified. Just do the schematic!

Paul

All your switches are wired wrong. The digital inputs will be disconnected and floating when the switches are off. You need to add pull down resistors or do the sensible thing and ground them instead of using +5V, and use INPUT_PULLUP in pinMode to enable the internal pullup resistors.

Also, driving NeoPixels from a PCA9685??? Have you tried this?

What’s the voltage requirements for the PCA9685? Can you give it 7.6V?

wolframore:
What’s the voltage requirements for the PCA9685? Can you give it 7.6V?

Good catch, but I think that's the PWM power input, and should be okay. The bad part would be driving NeoPixels on 7.6V... :wink:

You want to bet smoke on it?

Check the back of the board in the pictures.

I could be wrong but I don’t think you are supposed to run Dc motors directly from an arduino. You would need the output pin connected to the base of a transitor and drive it with the transistor.

ok

so how about linking the arduino and the pc9685 in series. that would give it about 3.7v? unless anyone can recommend a dc voltage step down board.

As for my switches Arrg this is why i asked. let me have a look at those internal pull up resistors. This is the bit thats new to me