Servo turning incorrect angle

Hello, I have a problem with a servo.

I used the standard "knob" program to control a servo with a joystick instead of a potentiometre, but while the servo turns from angles between 0 and 180 degrees, it turns about 135 degrees when I want it to turn 90 degrees (when the joystick is at its normal middle position). Clearly the servo is very off even though the fact that I am using a hobby grade servo with an error margin of 0.5 degrees.

I tested whether there was problem with the joystick and there wasn't any as I expected.

I connected the servo to the arduino 5V power source. I know that you should have a different power source when using a servo, but I only used one servo with a simple code. Plus, I tested the same knob code with the joystick and a servo before, and it was working fine. But, is the error still caused by the fact that I am using the arduino power source?

I am very new to arduino, so sorry if I am asking for a obvious answer.

Thank you

is the error still caused by the fact that I am using the arduino power source?

Power the servo from 4 AA batteries or a 5V wall wart (at least 1 Amp output) and eliminate that possibility. What ADC value do you get with joystick in neutral position? Full left & right? Post your code.

Try the servo with this test sketch on pin 9:

/*
 Try this test sketch with the Servo library to see how your
 servo responds to different settings, type a position
 (0 to 180) or if you type a number greater than 180 it will be
 interpreted as microseconds(544 to 2400), in the top of serial
 monitor and hit [ENTER], start at 90 (or 1472) and work your
 way toward zero (544) 5 degrees (or 50 micros) at a time, then
 toward 180 (2400). 
*/
#include <Servo.h>
Servo servo;

void setup() {
  // initialize serial:
  Serial.begin(9600); //set serial monitor baud rate to match
  servo.write(90);
  servo.attach(9);
  prntIt();
}

void loop() {
  // if there's any serial available, read it: