Servos and Arduino, same external supply

Hi everyone!
Hope this is the right section of the Forum, this is my first post ever.
My name is Gabriele and I’m new to this world. I hope that somebody may help me with an issue that I’ve been facing for more than a week with my ArduinoMega2560.

I’d like to create a structure that, with a solar panel, chases the sun. I’ve already done some coding and it works with 2 small servos (sg90), the usb supply and some photoresistors.

My intention is to supply both Arduino and the servos (probably bigger ones, such as the mg995) with my solar panels only. To start with it (the solar panel is another part because they don’t provide a stable voltage/current, but I’ve bought a proper buck converter that works fine) I’m trying to use the external supply (that is the stable, 9V and 1A provided in the kit, the one that you can attach to the wall and that uses the jack entrance).

I’ve tried to connect the same, common supply to Arduino and to two mg995 servos (whose max supplies are 6,6 Vs, but 7V also works well, and the load-free current are 0.17A) but it doesn’t work. The external supply, as said, is 9V-1A and I’ve used my solid-state converter to reduce the V down to 7V. I’ve connected in parallel this supply to both Arduino and the servos. I’ve also connected the gnd of Arduino to the gnd of the Servos. This doesn’t work. If, instead, I only leave one servo connected to only one pin it works fine. As soon as I connect, instead, the second servo the motors go crazy and do whatever they want, they block, they jitter or they follow random behaviours. The code is rather simple, it’s just a sweep (from 10 to 170 degrees for the two servos, one after the other one, using the Servo.h library).

If, instead, I connect the external power supply (same as before, with 7V) to the servo only, the Arduino via usb to my laptop and the gnds of Arduino and servos together it all works fine.