Setting up 6 LEDs with 6 SPST switchs

So I am trying to figure out a way to have all 6 leds lit while none of the 6 switches are pressed. Once one of the switches is made, the associated led will stay lit while all the others turn off.
If anyone can help, that would be great!
The application is for a manual transmision car. Basically what i want to do is when the car is in Neutral then all LEDs on. If it is in 1st,2nd,etc, then the LED associated with that gear will be lit.

What is your background?

I am fairly new to the arduino world. What exactly do you mean by "background"?

Do you know C++.
Do you have electronics experience.
Have you gone through the examples in the IDE?
What Arduino do you have?
Have you written any sketches by yourself?

Show use your proposed schematic.

mitchm95:
So I am trying to figure out a way to have all 6 leds lit while none of the 6 switches are pressed. Once one of the switches is made, the associated led will stay lit while all the others turn off.
If anyone can help, that would be great!
The application is for a manual transmision car. Basically what i want to do is when the car is in Neutral then all LEDs on. If it is in 1st,2nd,etc, then the LED associated with that gear will be lit.

It sounds like you just need a couple of if statements.

pseudo-code

if(no switches are pressed) {
    turn on all lights
}
else {
    turn on the one light you want depending on your gear.  
}

Or even:

pseudo-code

if( gear 1) {
    light up light 1
}
else if (gear 2) {
    light up light 2
}
else if (gear 3) {
    light up light 3
}
else {
    light up all lights
}

Delta_G:
It sounds like you just need a couple of if statements.

pseudo-code

if(no switches are pressed) {

turn on all lights
}
else {
    turn on the one light you want depending on your gear. 
}

Awesome thanks! I was reading how to set these up but i was getting stumped on making it so all the gears worked in conjunction. Makes sense now!