Setting up IDE for debugging

Hi
I am pretty new to arduino, but I have some background experience in programming even though it has been many years since I wrote my last line of code.
I have been struggling quite a lot reading guides on how to get debugging working (with breakpoints and stuff) in eclipse with all possible arduino plugins, but after several days of trials I would like to ask the community how do they debug (besides old school writing data to serial port). The closest I got to have it working is with Sloeber, but I believe I am downloading packages (gcc, g++, gdb, etc) in MinGW that later don't talk too well with eclipse. Unfortunately following the guides and screenshots is getting confusing because they are not up to date with the latest releases, so options in the configuration are slightly different.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Old School here, I am afraid. Using the Arduino IDE, Serial.print() and sometimes flashing LEDs to indicate program status. Making use of functions allows portions of code to be tested in isolation and using a shield with switches, LEDs, a pot and a shift register with a 7 segment display makes it easy to test simple ideas before they are incorporated into larger programs.

I have briefly looked at other IDEs but for my needs I could not be bothered to get into the complexities of setting any of them up.

You will never get a debugger working. The Arduino simply does not have the tools needed.

Typically, when debugging a program, the program and the debugger are running on the same machine. The Arduino, where the program to be debugged runs, can NOT run a debugger, too. It can only run one program. Running the debugger on some other machine is pointless, since the Arduino doesn't understand watchpoints, breakpoints, single stepping, etc.

When I get desperate I hook up an atmel jtagice3 and use atmel studio for debugging. But most of the time, print and pin toggling...

Or an xplained mini 328p board...