Several things at the same time and millis() overflows

Hi all, first time poster and complete Arduino newbie here (in fact, not even that: still waiting for my first Uno to be delivered to start messing around... ).

However, I have a bit of C++ programming background and, reading the mythical "several things at the same time" thread (thanks Robin2, very useful!) I noticed overflows are never mentioned (plenty of indenting style and if vs. switch rants, though... :slight_smile: ).

My question is: what happens when millis() overflows (i.e. exceeds unsigned long capacity = 2^32, circa 49 days and 17 hours after loop starts) and, per reference, resets to 0?

I can see 2 boundary conditions (referring to the original demonstration code from this thread):

1. one of the variables used to schedule next status updates (previousOnBoardLedMillis, previousButtonMillis, etc.) overflows before millis(), e.g. previousOnBoardLedMillis += blinkDuration > 2^32 but millis() has not yet reached 2^32. What happens in these conditions will depend on how compiled operators (e.g. ++ or +=) handle overflows of unsigned long variables: is the target variable defaulted to zero? Is it assigned the remainder of the overflow? Or is it left with a "garbage" value (e.g. least significant 32 bits of the operator's result)?

2. millis() overflows before any of the variables used to schedule next status updates. E.g. when previousOnBoardLedMillis is very close to but still under 2^32 and updateOnBoardLedState() happens to be called a bit "late", after millis() has already been reset to zero. To be sure, this would be a rare combination of events in the real world (depending on how often update functions are called a few millisecond "late" vs. scheduled time, i.e. on how much other stuff is going on concurrently), but still possible.