SG3525 (AKA KA3525)

I have a switch mode power supply I was trying to repair that got put to the side. Getting back to it now. It had many burned parts including SG3525 SMPS controller IC. Basically put’s out a PWM to drive the main power MOSFETS.

I am slowly tracing out all the circuits in the board. There are missing parts etc. There are also 3 pots that are involved. It is not triggering the mosfets (also replaced).

I decided to put one of these IC’s on a breadboard and play with it until I had a real clear understanding of it. I am studying the test circuit on page 4 of the white papers which I have included here. There are a few things am slightly unclear about. Please refer to the drawing on page 4 for the numbers I am referencing.

Near pin 10 there is a switch to shut down the chip. It looks like it is a normally open switch that is being pushed down LOL. Is this really supposed to be just a normally open momentary switch?

Near pin 7 same question. Is that supposed to be a normally closed momentary switch?

To the right of that the text says RT and there is a symbol. I believe they are just representing a test point here? RT is what that pin is called etc.

Some of the capacitors in this circuit have 3 diagonal lines connecting the plates. What does that mean please?

For pin 10 can any .7 v general purpose diodes be used?

Over near pins 11 and 14 on the right side there is a ganged switch. Looks like it can choose between VCC or ground for the outputs. I see it has to do with setting up collector and emitter voltages inside the chip but I don;t understand what it’s for.

What is deadtime please? I understand discharge is relating to the cap CT that sets up the frequency etc.

I have plans to use this chip for my own designs in the future if I can get my head around the finer details. When I have read enough I want to try to design a tube amp and maybe use a switch mode instead of a transformer if it turns out to be a good idea.