sharpIR-decoupling kills spikes, but noise remains

hey there. checking in with a decoupling/bypass capacitor question.

my circuit consists of 5 rotary potentiometers and 1 sharp gpd120. upon using the IR sensor with arduino, i noticed 2 things - 1, that the reading of its values suffered from sudden spikes every couple of seconds, and 2, that it introduced a LOT of noise into my circuit. this noise is picked up on my rotary potentiometer pins and causes the data to jitter.

i’m new to decoupling. after doing a lot of reading about this, and i’ve dropped a 100uf capacitor across the 5v and ground of the sharp gpd120. this eliminated the spikes handily - great success! however, the general noise remains.

how can other decoupling and/or bypass caps be used to eliminate this noise? i tried putting a cap across the ground/5v of a potentiometer with no change - which makes sense, cuz these are passive components and aren’t generating the variety of consumption that the IR sensor is.

i’ll continue to experiment tomorrow, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

You need to target the device that is generating the high switching demand and put a large (or bulk) capacitor across that.
However, you can also consider filtering the signal lines that are picking up the noise if this noise is out of band (very difference in frequency) from your signal. Small series resistors (about 20 to 100R) coupled with small capacitors (10nF or so) to ground on the chip inputs.

As will as just bulk C you can add series resistors or inductors.

thanks, grumpy -

i'd already put a 10uf across the v and ground terminals of the IR sensor. this eliminated the spikes, but not the noise read by the other pins. i upped the capacitor value to 100uf, but this didn't make any difference in what the potentiometer pins either.

as far as this goes:

Small series resistors (about 20 to 100R) coupled with small capacitors (10nF or so) to ground on the chip inputs.