Shift register clusters of leds

I'm putting together a circuit so that I can control 8 clusters of 4 leds via the arduino. The leds are 10mm 3.3v 20ma variety, which I've calculated take 80mA total (in parallel) per cluster of 4.

I plan to use a 74HC595 shift register to control the leds and a Darlington Transistory Array (ULN2803A) to beef up the power to cater for the 32 leds. An external 5v supply will be used to provide additional current to power the leds.

I'm a software engineer by trade, so electronics is pretty new to me. Can anyone give me guidance as to whether this circuit looks correct please?

|500x489 [Larger Image]

Most of us don't care for reading fritzing digrams. Why don't you redo that as a schematic?

It looks OK to me with the exception that two of your data connections on the Fritzing diagram have strayed into the power rails.

74HC595, add a decoupling 100nf capacitor on your power pin to GND.
As mentioned, a schematic is needed.

A darlington array has a dropout voltage of almost 1volt at 80mA. 5volt - 3.3volt (LED) - 1volt (ULN) = ~0.7volt left for the resistor.

8 * 80mA = 640mA * 1volt dropout = 640mW of heat into the ULN chip. It will get ~40-50C hotter than ambient when all LEDs are on.

640mA + Arduino = ~700mA total.

A TPIC6*595 could replace the 74HC595 and the ULN2803. Works the same as the 74HC595. Has mosfet outputs (doesn't get as hot).

If you use a 9volt supply for the LEDs, then you can connect two LEDs in series. Doubles the amount of LEDs, or halves the total current used. The Arduino is happy with 9volt on the DC socket or on V-in. Leo..

Thanks for replies guys.
I’m working on the schematic and will post it up once complete.

@Leo - Thanks for the calculations, that really helps. Driving the leds with 12v in series may be another option, which would half the power needed for leds. I don’t anticipate all leds being on all at the same, which should help.