shift register newbie fade led question

Hello to all, this is my first post here.

I'm an amateur in electronics and doing some tests to get some intuition. I followed the shift register tutorial and i have connected to the arduino a shift register and 6 leds. I have used 220 ohms resistors for each led. Everything works ok. I'm using a potensiometer through one analog in and according to the sensored value i switch on the leds serially. but my problem is that the leds fade after a couple of seconds and when i touch one of my potensiometer contacts they get bright again. So if someone can explain me what happens i would be very happy.

Regards, John

Which program? What circuit? How am I to guess? Ohh ---> http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,148850.0.html