Shift Register Out - Motors and Solenoids, Shift In - Temp. Probes

Let me preface by saying that I am new to Arduino and I’m just asking for help on setting up my project - not the how to but what is possible. If you do find it in your heart to give me some more in depth guidance, that would also be appreciated :wink:

What I need to do is control 8 motors (peristaltic pumps) with TIP120 transistors and PWM via potentiometers. I would prefer to do this through the Arduino but for simplicity (and added cost) I can use stand alone PWM controllers for each motor. The motors will be powered with a 12V, 30A power supply. I need to control 8 solenoids as well so I wish to use shift registers to do this. The 8 solenoids (in house made, air-core electromagnetic solenoids) will be set up just like the motors with TIP120 transistors and powered on by the same 12v, 30A power supply. The solenoids will also need to be PWM via potentiometers. I will need to log temperature from 8 temperature probes (LM335Z with POTs for calibrating) that I wish to use a shift in register for. The temp. probes will be logging data 24/7 via an ethernet shield. The motors will be running 24/7. The solenoids need to be switched on for one second and off for one second (Pulsed @ 1Hz? In addition to the PWM when on) and at some point need to be on for 14 hours (still 1Hz pulse) and off for 10 hours. I am currently using an Arduin UNO R3.

• Can I control 8 motors and solenoids with PMW via potentiometers through 2 shift registers and 1 Arduino? Would it be better to use 2 separate Arduinos to control these two separate functions (motors and solenoids)?
  • Can the 8 temp. probes be set up with a shift in register on the same Arduino? Would it be easier to use a separate Arduino for monitoring and recording temp. data?