Shift Register question

Hi,

Is there a way to daisy chain Shift registers so that data can be sent to each one individually? I need to shift 4 individual lots of 8 bit data into 4 shift registers whilst minimizing the number of digital pins used as I need to use four rotary encoders. Sorry if this is a dumb question but Im pretty new to this.

Sorry, I don't have anything to upload yet as I'm still at the planning stage and this has got me a bit stumped :blush:

Help appreciated.

Thanks

Which do you want - daisy chained, or written to individually?
74HC595 example: You can connect shift clock and serial data to all devices in parallel, and give each one its own register clock. Then each gets data clocked in, but only the device getting a register clock will have its output updated.
Or you can daisy chain the serial data, and send out all data when the data for one register changes. I do this from an array using the built in SPI. Say you had 4 registers that were daisy chained:

#include <SPI.h> // connect MOSI (D11) to Serial Data in, SCK (D13) to SRCLK
// OE to GND, MRCLR to +5

byte dataArray[] = {0,1,2,3,};
byte ssPin = 10; // connect to RCLK
byte x; // used with for loop

void setup(){
pinMode (ssPin, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite (ssPIN, HIGH);
SPI.begin();
}

void setup(){
:
stuff happens
:
// data is updated, time to send it out
digitalWrite (ssPIN, LOW);
for (x=0; x<4; x=x+1){ // 0,1,2,3
SPI.transfer (dataArray[x]);
}
digitalWrite (ssPIN, HIGH); // outputs change on this rising edge of different data was shifted in, otherwise outputs stay the same.
:
do other stuff
: 
}

The Transfer just takes 40-50uS to complete, and can be made faster with direct port manipulation and increasing the SPI transfer speed (default is 4 MHz clock). Make sure each shift register has a 0.1uF cap from it s Vcc pin to Gnd.

I need to shift 4 individual lots of 8 bit data into 4 shift registers